How To Tuesdays: #Beginner371 for Momentum 94.7 [[ Week II – III ]]

As mentioned in last week’s post; this year’s Momentum 94.7 Cycle Challenge is taking place on the 9th (mountain bike) and 16th of November (road). We have decided to post a training plan for beginner riders here weekly and we hope you enjoyed the first week of training? It was chilled to ease into things and to prevent injuries and illness from overtraining but the following two weeks are progressively more difficult / exciting.

If you would like to adapt the plan to suit your strength and fitness levels or have a different goal that you are working towards please feel free to contact Wesleigh on wesleigh@mobiletrainers.co.za. He is a mobile personal trainer which means he comes to you (no gym contract or own equipment necessary) and is focused on a creating a completely customised and personalised training plan suitable for you.

We will be updating our Twitter and Facebook pages daily (follow the #Beginner371hashtag) with the program too so be sure to follow us there to stay updated :)

Tuesday, 29 July – Rest

 

Wednesday, 30 July – 30 minute spinning / ride session and legs

Workout:

  • 10 x forward lunges (per leg)
  • 10 x squats
  • 5 x calf raises with your toes pointing out
  • 5 x calf raises with your toes pointing in
  • 10 x single leg dead lifts
  • Repeat

Stretch:

Thursday, 31 July – Rest

 

Friday, 1 August – 60 minute spinning / ride session

Stretch:

Saturday, 2 August  –  60 minute spinning / ride session

 

Sunday, 3 August – Rest

 

Monday, 4 August – 45 minute spinning / ride session

Tuesday, 5 August – Rest

 

Wednesday, 6 August – 30 minute spinning / ride session and legs

  • You can go to a spinning class, hit the road or a trail or follow this endurance training session (playlist included) on a trainer at home or bike at the gym.
  • This session is going to be high intensity, keeping your HR in the 50 – 60% range – keeping some energy for your leg workout to follow.

Workout:

  • 10 x forward lunges (per leg)
  • 10 x squats
  • 5 x calf raises with your toes pointing out
  • 5 x calf raises with your toes pointing in
  • 10 x single leg dead lifts
  • Repeat

Stretch:

Thursday, 7 August – 30 minute high intensity spinning / ride session 

Friday, 8 August – Rest

 

Saturday, 9 August – Stretch

 

Sunday, 10 August – Road ride or race

Monday, 11 August – Rest

 

Tuesday, 12 August – 15 minute spinning / ride session

 

If you do not know how to calculate your heart rate, read this: Calculating percentage based heart rate for optimal training.

Let us know if you are taking part – we would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply